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Chapter 107. BUILDING CONSTRUCTION  

§ 107‐1. Legislative authority.  

Pursuant to Chapters 541, 98 and 99 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, the following 
penalties and schedule of fees are hereby established in accordance with the provisions of the State 
Building Code, Connecticut Fire Prevention Code and Connecticut Fire Safety Code, as amended.  

§ 107‐2. Schedule of fees.  

[Amended 6‐22‐1998, effective 7‐15‐1998; 4‐8‐2002, effective 6‐4‐2002; 3‐24‐2003, effective 4‐18‐
2003; 10‐14‐2008, effective 11‐11‐2008] 

A. The fee for signs, billboards and other display structures for which permits are a building 
permit required under the provisions of the State Building Code, as amended, shall be at the 
rate of $14.50$15.25 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof of building value. A copy of the work 
contract shall be submitted for the purpose of determining permit feesconstruction value, 
except as provided in Subsections B, C and D, below.  

B. The fee for a building permit for the removal of a building or structure from one lot to another 
or to a new location on the same lot shall be at the rate of $12.50 for each $1,000 or fraction 
thereof of the estimated costs of moving, plus the cost of new foundations and all work 
necessary to place the building or structure in its completed condition and in a new location. 
A copy of the work contract shall be submitted for the purpose of determining permit 
feesrequired under the provisions of the State Building Code, and requiring plan review 
and/or inspection by the Fire Marshal pursuant to the Connecticut Fire Safety Code and or 
Connecticut Fire Prevention Code as amended, shall be at the rate of $22.00 for each $1,000 
or fraction thereof of construction value.  

C. The fee for a permit for the demolition of a building or structure shall be at the rate of $12.50 
for each $1,000 or fraction thereof of the cost of such demolition. A copy of the work 
contract shall be submitted for the purpose of determining permit fees, except that permit 
fees for demolition not requiring a licensed demolition contractor shall be based on the 
actual cost of the demolition activity.  

D. The fee for residential and accessory building permits issued in accordance with a building 
permit required under the provisions of the State Building Code, as amended, for one and 
two family residences, townhouses and associated accessory buildings to those structures 
shall be at the a rate of $12.50$13.25 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof of estimated 
building construction costsvalue. Estimated building costs referred to herein shall be those 
costs set forth in the most recent edition of the Marshall and Swift Residential Cost 
Handbook.  
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E. The fee for commercial, industrial and similar building permits issued in accordance with the 
State Building Code shall be at the rate of $14.50 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof of 
estimated building cost. Estimated building costs referred to herein shall be those costs set 
forth in the most recent edition of the Marshall Valuation Service Manual.  

FE. A fee of $25 for all permits required pursuant to Subsections A through EA, C and D of this 
section shall be applied when the cost of the work is valued at less than or equal to $1,000 of 
construction value. A fee of $50 for all permits required pursuant to Subsection B of this 
section shall be applied when the cost of work is valued at less than or equal to $1,000 of 
construction value. 

G. All fees and costs related to the performance of special professional and technical services for 
"threshold limit" structures as defined in C.G.S. 29‐276b shall be paid by the owner.  

HF. The fee for the inspection of any existing solid fuel‐burning appliance is $35 per unit, and 
must be submitted prior to the inspection. Applicants requesting an inspection should shall 
apply to the Building Department.  

I.G. Except as provided under Subsection J H of this section, all permit fees are due when an 
application is submitted to the Building Department.  

JH. A nonrefundable plan review/administrative fee of $250 $350 per dwelling unit must be 
submitted with the application for all new residential dwellingspermits submitted pursuant 
to Subsection B. The fee shall be $250 for all permits submitted pursuant to Subsection D.  
The plan review/administrative fee of $250 will be subtracted from the total fee as calculated 
pursuant to the fee schedule set out in this section. The balance of the permit fee will be due 
upon the approval of the building permit.  

I. Construction value used for the determination of all fees within this schedule shall be 
determined by the Building Official pursuant to the State Building Code as amended. 

§ 107‐3. Refunds.  

[Added 3‐24‐2003, effective 4‐18‐2003] 

A. When a permit has been issued in accordance with the State Building Code and the 
owner/applicant abandons or discontinues the building project, or, if the permit is revoked 
by the Building Official, the owner/applicant can make a written request for a refund. That 
portion of the work actually completed shall be computed and any excess fee shall be 
returned, less a nonrefundable plan review/administrative fee equivalent to a minimum of 
$40 50 or 15% of the cost of the permit, whichever is greater.  

B. When a permit application submitted under this section has been denied in accordance with 
the State Building Code, the owner/applicant can make a written request for a refund. Any 
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excess fee shall be returned, less a the nonrefundable plan review/administrative fee 
prescribed in Section 107‐2(H).  In all other cases the refund shall be $50equivalent to a 
minimum of $40 or 15% of the cost of the permit, whichever is greater.  

C. The Building Official will calculate the refund due to the owner/applicant and forward it to the 
Finance Department for processing.  

§ 107‐4. Penalties for offenses.  

A. Any person who violates any provision of the State Building Code shall be fined not less than 
$200 nor more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than six months, or both, as provided in 
Public Act 88‐359. Editor's Note: See C.G.S. § 29‐254a.  

B. Any person who shall continue any work in or about the structure after having been served 
with a stop‐work order, except such work as that person is directed to perform to remove a 
violation or unsafe conditions, shall be liable to a fine of not less than $200 nor more than 
$1,000 or imprisoned not more than six months, or both, as provided in Public Act 88‐359. 
Editor's Note: See C.G.S. § 29‐254a.  

C. Starting work prior to obtaining a building permit.  

[Added 6‐22‐1998, effective 7‐15‐1998] 

(1) A penalty of $250 will be added to a permit fee for starting work without a permit.  

[Amended 10‐14‐2008, effective 11‐11‐2008] 

(2) A penalty will not be assessed to emergency repair work.  

D. Repeat inspections. The fee for a repeat inspection over one return visit for the same code violation 
correction shall be $10.  

[Added 6‐22‐1998, effective 7‐15‐1998] 

§ 107‐5. Agencies exempt from fees; exceptioneducation fee.  

[Amended 4‐8‐2002, effective 6‐4‐2002] 

Agencies of the Town of Mansfield and the Mansfield Board of Education are required to comply with 
the provisions of the State Building Code, as amended; but shall not be required to pay any permit fees 
required under said State Building Code, any amendment thereto or under any Town ordinance 
relating thereto; except that the Building Official shall assess an education fee on each building permit 
application, including any application filed by an agency of the Town of Mansfield or the Mansfield 
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Board of Education, as required by Connecticut General Statutes § 29‐263(b), as amended, and the 
regulations promulgated thereunder.  
 
§ 107‐6. Exception 
Except for the mandatory education fee noted in the preceding Section 107‐5, nothing in this Chapter 
shall limit the authority of the Town Council as set forth in Town of Mansfield Charter section C303 to 
contractually establish any alternative schedule of fees for any large multi‐family, commercial or mixed 
use construction project to reflect more accurately the cost to the Town of providing the services 
related to such fees. 
 
 
§ 107‐7. Severability.  
Should any court of competent jurisdiction declare any section or clause or provision of this article to 
be illegal or unconstitutional, such decision shall affect only such section, clause or provision so 
declared illegal or unconstitutional, and shall not affect any other section, clause or provision of this 
article.  
 

 
* * * * * 

 

Chapter 122. FEES  

Article VI. Fees for Fire Prevention Services  

[Adopted 5‐26‐2009, effective 6‐24‐2009] 

§ 122‐14. Legislative authority.  
Pursuant to Chapters 541, 98 and 99 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, the following 
penalties and schedule of fees are hereby established regarding the provisions of the Connecticut Fire 
Safety Code, as amended.  
§ 122‐15. Schedule of fees.  
A. The fee for plan reviews for new construction, renovations, additions or modernization of buildings 
or structures shall be at the rate established in Table 1, below. Editor's Note: Table 1 is included at the 
end of this chapter. The basis upon which the fee is calculated shall be developed by the Building 
Department of the Town of Mansfield.  
(1) Additional plan review time required due to changes or revisions to previously approved plans, or 
major redesigns after initial plan review, shall be billed on an actual cost basis, but shall not exceed an 
amount equal to the original plan review fee.  
B. Certificate of occupancy fees for new construction, renovations, additions or modernization of 
buildings or structures are set forth in Table 2, below. Editor's Note: Table 2 is included at the end of 
this chapter.  
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C. All plan review permit and certificate of occupancy fees for new construction, renovations, additions 
or modernization of buildings or structures are due and payable when an application is submitted to 
the Office of the Fire Marshal.  
D. Effective January 1, 2011, and January 1 of each year thereafter, certificate of occupancy fees (Table 
2) shall be adjusted annually. The annual fee adjustment shall be revised and implemented on the first 
day of each year, beginning January 1, 2011, by an amount equal to the percentage change in the 
Consumer Price Index for the preceding year ending on June 30, as prepared by the Department of 
Labor, Bureau of Labor, or a replacement index applicable to the Town of Mansfield. Each such newly 
adjusted fee shall be rounded up to the next higher whole dollar amount.  
§ 122‐16. Refunds.  
A. When a permit or approval has been issued in accordance with the Connecticut Fire Safety Code and 
the owner/applicant abandons or discontinues the building project, or if the permit is revoked by the 
Fire Marshal, the owner/applicant can make a written request for a refund. The fee for that portion of 
the work actually completed shall be computed and any excess fee shall be returned, except that a 
nonrefundable plan review/administrative minimum fee of $40 or 15% of the cost of the permit, 
whichever is greater, will be retained at least.  
B. When a permit or approval application submitted under this article has been denied in accordance 
with the Connecticut Fire Safety Code, the owner/applicant can make a written request for a refund. 
Any excess fee shall be returned, less a nonrefundable plan review/administrative minimum fee of $40 
or 15% of the cost of the permit, whichever is greater.  
C. The Fire Marshal will calculate the refund due to the owner/applicant and forward it to the Finance 
Department for processing.  
§ 122‐17. Penalties for offenses.  
Penalties for offenses shall be as follows:  
A. Starting work prior to obtaining approval from the Fire Marshal:  
(1) A penalty of $250 will be added to a permit fee for starting work without a permit.  
(2) A penalty will not be assessed for emergency repair work.  
§ 122‐18. Agencies exempt from fees.  
Agencies of the Town of Mansfield and the Mansfield Board of Education are required to comply with 
the provisions of the Connecticut Fire Safety Code, as amended, but shall not be required to pay any 
permit fees mandated by said Fire Safety Code, any amendment thereto, or under any Town ordinance 
relating thereto.  
§ 122‐19. Severability.  
Should any court of competent jurisdiction declare any section or clause or provision of this article to 
be illegal or unconstitutional, such decision shall affect only such section, clause or provision so 
declared illegal or unconstitutional, and shall not affect any other section, clause or provision of this 
article.  


