Property Assessment

The Town Assessor’s Office administers the Town’s property tax program in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes. On an annual basis, the Assessor’s Office compiles the Grand List of taxable and tax exempt property. This listing is composed of real estate, motor vehicles, and personal property owned or leased by town businesses.


The Assessor’s Office, like the rest of Town Hall, is closed to all public-facing services until further notice. Many of our services are available online via the links below. 

**We are making appointments for essential services only** 

The best way to reach us is by email. (See link, above right.)

However, if you wish to talk with someone directly and you do not have email, you may call the Assessor’s Office main number at 860-429-3311 and leave your name, number, and a brief message.  We are working remotely and receive all voice messages via email audio file. You must leave a message if you want to talk with us. 

As a courtesy, please do not call other departments looking for us; they cannot help you reach us any quicker.  

Thank you for your understanding during these difficult times.  

Be well, and stay safe.


Online Property Information

For an informal look up of property information please use our online Geographic Information System. Please use the Chrome Browser to access Main Street Maps. Once you have found a property on the map, you will be able to access the most recent property record card by clicking on "PDF Property Card" from the list to the far left of the screen.

Upcoming Tax Bills
The Mill Rate for the 2019 Grand List is the same as last year, 31.38.

The July 2020 Tax Bills will be based on the 2019 Grand List (covering the assessment year October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2020), and are paid during the fiscal year running from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021. Taxes are due without penalty by Monday, August 3, 2020*. If you do not receive a tax bill on your property or motor vehicle by July 15, 2020 please call 860-429-3374. 

* Please see the Tax/Revenue Collections web page for information regarding Deferment Program for July 2020 Taxes.

Adjustments to your motor vehicle tax bills may only be made with two proofs of disposal. (see Motor Vehicle Tax Bills Q&A). Active Duty Veterans must annually submit their active duty orders or a Property Tax Exemption Application signed by their commander to the Assessor’s Office in order to receive Motor Vehicle benefits.

Elderly & Disabled Homeowners & Low Income Veterans

Biennial filing period for Elderly & Disabled Homeowners is February 1 - May 15 and is based on income qualifications*. For information on the Homeowner’s Program application process, particularly as it relates to this year’s COVID-19 pandemic, please Click HERE. 

Biennial filing period for Low Income Veterans is February 1 - October 1 for the upcoming grand list year (i.e., October 1, 2020).  For additional information, please Click HERE.  For a printable application please Click HERE.

* Income qualifications for both programs for the 2019 calendar year are:                      $37,000 Unmarried and $45,100 Married.

Board of Assessment Appeals 

In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes 12-111, the Mansfield Board of Assessment Appeals are scheduled to hold their Motor Vehicle Hearings on Tuesday, September 15, 2020.  Assuming social distancing guidelines have eased somewhat by then, the Hearings will be held at the Assessor’s Office, Audrey P. Beck Building (Town Hall), 4 South Eagleville Road, Storrs.

The purpose of these meetings is to hear appeals on assessments for the October 1, 2019 Motor Vehicle Grand List only. Please Note: An appointment is NOT required for the September Hearings, but is strongly recommended in order to avoid waiting in line. Appeal forms are now available online, or at the Assessor’s Office. For more information please email:

Income & Expense Forms

Income & Expense Forms were recently mailed to owners of rental properties.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the return date has been extended to Aug. 15, 2020.  Should you need additional forms, or if you didn’t receive yours in the mail, please click here

Defective Concrete and Crumbling Foundations Information Update

Mansfield is one of about twenty plus municipalities in Northeastern Connecticut known to have properties built using defective concrete in building foundations. Legislation has recently passed allowing owners of properties built in 1983 or later, who have been impacted by defective concrete, to receive a reduced property assessment. You must, however, have a licensed, professional engineer inspect your property and provide you with a written report indicating that your property has defective concrete.  A copy of the engineer’s report must be submitted to the Assessor’s Office, and the assessment staff must also inspect your property.  For more information about the process of receiving a reduced assessment, please contact our office by phone: (860)429-3311 or email:

Below are links to important information.

Below are helpful links regarding the process to claim a casualty loss with the IRS. Disclaimer: the Town cannot provide any specific recommendations or assistance regarding this matter: 

IRS Revenue Procedure 2017-60:

IRS Revenue Procedure 2018-14:

Personal Property

Please see the following sections of the Connecticut General Code if you have questions about the particulars of what is due and when:

Please see the following sections of the Connecticut General Code if you have questions about the particulars of what is due and when:

Sec. 12-71. Personal property subject to property tax.

Sec. 12-42. Extension for filing declaration. Assessor preparation of declaration when none filed.

Additional Items

Office Links