Exemptions

Motor Vehicles

Members of the Armed Forces serving in Active Duty must annually file application and proof of eligibility with the Assessor's office to claim exemption from motor vehicle taxation for that tax year. 

Non-Connecticut Resident Servicemembers may use the Federal Exemption Application Claim Form for vehicles they or their spouse own or the Connecticut Exemption Application Claim Form for one leased vehicle. 

Connecticut Resident or Non-Resident Servicemembers may file the Connecticut Exemption Application Claim Form to exempt one vehicle that they own or lease.

Veterans Exemptions

Please open link to exemption programs brochure pertaining to Veterans Exemptions: Information for Veterans

  1. Ordering Copies of DD214s

    Learn how to order duplicate copies of DD2114s.

    Link to page

  2. Rule for Exemptions

    Learn about the rules and regulations for tax exemptions for veterans.

    Link to page

  3. Tax Exemptions for Veterans

    Veterans must present their original DD214 discharge paper to the Town Clerk prior to October 1 in order to have the veteran's exemption applied to their tax bill for the following year.

    Link to page

Elderly & Disabled Homeowners and Additional Veterans Income Qualified Exemptions

Biennial filing period for Elderly & Disabled Homeowners is February 1 - May 15 and is based on income qualifications*. For information on the Homeowner’s Program application process, please contact the assessor's office: assessor@mansfieldct.org..

COVID-19 Update for Re-filers only:

Pursuant to Governor's Executive Order 10-89th COVID-19 Order:

"3. Suspension of Reapplication Filing Requirement for the Homeowners’ – Elderly/Disabled Circuit Breaker and Freeze Tax Relief Programs. The biennial filing requirements imposed by Sections 12-170aa(e) and (f), 12-170v, 12-170w, 12-129b, 12-129c and 12-129n of the Connecticut General Statutes, for taxpayers who were granted tax relief benefits for the Grand List year 2018 and who are required to recertify for the Grand List year 2020, are suspended and such taxpayers shall automatically maintain their benefits for the next biennial cycle ending in Grand List year 2022. The municipal requirement to notify taxpayers concerning re-application requirements by regular mail is waived."

Biennial filing period for Additional Veterans, Income Qualified is February 1 - October 1 for the upcoming grand list year (i.e., October 1, 2022).  For additional information, please Click HERE.  For a printable application please Click HERE.

COVID-19 Update for Re-filers only:

Pursuant to Governor's Executive Order 10-89th COVID-19 Order:

"2. Suspension of Reapplication Filing Requirement for the Additional Veterans Tax Relief Program. The biennial filing requirements imposed by Sections 12-81g, 12-81f, 12-81ii and 12-81jj of the Connecticut General Statutes for taxpayers who were granted tax relief benefits pursuant to those sections for the Grand List year 2019 and who are required to recertify for the Grand List year 2021, are suspended and such taxpayers shall automatically maintain their benefits for the next biennial cycle ending in Grand List year 2023." 

First time filers, new applications: 

*2021 Calendar Year Income Qualifications for these programs are:  $38,100 Unmarried and $46,400 Married.

Blind Exemptions

 

In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes §12-81(17), residents of the State of Connecticut who are legally blind are eligible to receive an exemption of 3,000 of assessed valuation on his or her property. 

 

Pursuant to C.G.S. §12-92, “blindness shall be defined to mean total and permanent loss of sight in both eyes or reduction in vision so that the central visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses, or, if visual acuity is greater than 20/200, it is accompanied by a limitation in the fields of vision such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater than twenty degrees.”

 

Satisfactory proof would include a “Certificate of Blindness” from the Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind (BESB), or a copy of the Eye Doctor Reporting Form to BESB, which must be filed with the Assessor, on or before October 1st for the following Grand List year. (Such forms are confidential and not open to public inspection).

 

For approved proofs filed October 2, 2021--October 1, 2022, exemptions apply to the 2022 Grand List year.

 

LOCAL OPTION EXEMPTION

The Town of Mansfield has adopted an additional 2,000, income based, assessment exemption, as provided for under C.G.S. §12-81i, C.G.S. §12-81j and C.G.S. §12-81l. 

 

Any person, submitting a claim for the additional exemption, must meet the foregoing criteria and establish that their qualifying income is below the maximum amount provided by law. Such legally blind person, their duly authorized agent or attorney “shall be required to file an application, on a form prepared for such purpose by the Assessor, not later than the date of the assessment list with respect to which such additional exemption is claimed. Each such application shall include a copy of such person's federal income tax return, or, in the event that a return is not filed, such evidence related to income as may be required by the Assessor for the tax year of such person ending immediately prior to the approval of a claim for such additional exemption.”

 

The State’s 2021 income limits are $46,400 for a married couple and $38,100 for a single person. 

The filing period is February 1-October 1. Applications filed every two years.

 

Approved applications filed February 1, 2021-October 1, 2021 apply to 2021 and 2022 Grand List Years.

Approved applications filed February 1, 2022-October 1, 2022 apply to 2022 and 2023 Grand List Years.